Practice is everything!


Here are a few quotes on practice  I would like to present. Building Vectology.org has been a wonderful experience for me and has brought me great joy. It has made me understand what it is  be a servant and how to share the knowledge and experience gained over the years. My my goal is to share more than my knowledge of vector art creation, but art creation as a whole.  Remember to stay motivated and keep practicing!

Below are a few of my first vector images. I have always been very intrigued with lighting as it may show in these pieces.

My journey has been very long and hard, but well worth it. I have blazed a path behind me for all that want to follow in it. Now is the time for input from the community, If  you have any questions or tutorial request let me know because it will guide me when building the curriculum for Vectology.org. Before I leave, here are a few quotes on practicing. I hope these quotes inspire you as they did myself!

You can follow me on twitter @HUMANNATURE_84  and remember to subscribe to receive updates!

Thank you!

 

QUOTES THAT HAVE INSPIRED BILLIONS:

“In order to be great at anything you have to practice. Greatness can be in you, but you have to practice in order to bring it out. I reached the point that I was practicing 10 hours a day on my violin”—–MINISTER FARRAKAHAN (speaking to students, at the Muhammad School of Music)

“Practice means to perform, over and over again in the face of all obstacles, some act of vision, of faith, of desire. Practice is a means of inviting the perfection desired.” Martha Graham

“What a player ( or artist )does best, he should practice least. Practice is for problems.”

“Practice is everything. This is often misquoted as Practice makes perfect.” Periander

“Practice as if you are the worst, perform as if you are the best.”

“When you are not practicing, remember, someone somewhere is practicing, and when you meet him he will win” Ed Macauley

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Interesting to see how your work has developed. The early work is by no means bad, but you’ve developed a unique style of shading / lighting.

    I’d like to know about lighting techniques within Illustrator. In my current workflow, I tend to finish things off in Photoshop, but I’d like to know how to stay in Illy throughout.

    • “Interesting to see how your work has developed. The early work is by no means bad, but you’ve developed a unique style of shading / lighting.”

      Thanks, It has been a long road! I think it is important to see where you started so you can see how much you have progressed!

      “I’d like to know about lighting techniques within Illustrator. In my current workflow, I tend to finish things off in Photoshop, but I’d like to know how to stay in Illy throughout.”

      Oh yeah, lighting will be covered very heavily!

  2. I’d like to know about lighting techniques too – but could you include Inkscape and not only Illustrator, please?

  3. I love the quote and I captivate your hard work from the beginning. My graphic skill on Photoshop are also from curiosity that lead me to study by myself. It’s also been a long year for me and I’m impressed with myself to, but I also think that I need more practice for now on and more advance. It feels good when I notice I’m not the only one (my friend still mesmerize my graphic skill right now and it feels strange that I’m almost in the level with my teacher).

    And now I’m going to study vector to expand my knowledge. And this is my starting point. Very inspirational post. 🙂

  4. Well i’m glad the hard work and practice has paid of for you!
    See you at The VECTOLOGY.ORG launch!

  5. I’ve never expect something like that from you, because the artist usually not talk about this side of the work, how long was the road and the true, depht and personal taste of this, which may be just a sparkle of the whole thing but it reflect not just the kind of artist who you are but also the person behind and somehow to exhort a way to take this world of art.. I really like you even more, is admirable. The motivation and practice go hand to hand, we know how hard is and is a weak point, we should do that by inertia >.< I should do that often and often. I am very interested on the realistic effect over different surfaces and mixed surfaces with vector. The quotes are amazing and with few words tell us the essential. Nice to see your first works ^^ really nice its telling us a little bit of you. "Practice is my new lesson today and tomorrow".

Leave a Reply

